LaVeda.co.uk

La Veda Home

Guest Reviews - extracts from guest feedback received will be added here as the seasons progress.

Owner's Review

The property is ideal for many different parties, a mum and dad with 3/4 kids, mum and dad plus 1 or 2 grandparents and 2 kids, 3 couples, 4/5 golfers or 6 who get on well! You will need a car to get the best out of the property, it’s a 15 minute drive to the main town, Montbron, which has bars, restaurants, supermarkets banks etc, or 20 minutes to the very attractive town of La Rochefoucauld which has more restaurants and even larger supermarkets.

   .

As for the house, the lounge is cool in summer but with the log burner, cosy in spring and autumn and the convenient dining area seats six in style and comfort. The master bedroom, with en-suite shower room, is light and airy and the other 2 bedrooms are both a good size and have twin beds that can be arranged as doubles.


In the garden there are several eating/relaxing areas all with parasols and the pool gets the sun all day long. It is both private and enclosed so ideal for a young family.


~~~

16th July 2013


Hi Rog,


Glad you're sweltering too!!


Everything's great here - we've been very lazy thus far only venturing out to Leclercs.... All sleeping, eating and drinking well. Just what the doc ordered.


The whole place is fab. Thank you!!


Jo & Gareth xx

~~~


2nd October 2013


Roger

Just a short note to say what a fabulous time we all had at your lovely house in such a wonderful, quiet location We were also very lucky with the weather. Already seems such a long time ago - I've been to work for a day !!

Thanks very much for letting us use it.


~~~

11th August 2013


Hi Roger

In brief we went on one of the boating lakes - big tick


We did walks too - big tick


Star gazing in the evening with the kids - midnight feast and the milky way was a hit.


the garden is teeming with wildlife for nature buffs who love that sort of thing (my kids!)


It was too hot to be more adventurous.


Limoges for kids - the cathedral, the aquarium and picnic lunch in the gardens behind the cathedral. Stunning views and plenty of shade. We also did a couple of museums - no china!!!


Kate

~~~


18th July 2013


Rog,

We want to let you know how much we enjoyed the week spent at La Veda, even allowing for the company!

The house is great for a complete chill out, even in high temperatures.

We hope the first summer for you is a good one and all the best for the future with the house.

Best wishes

Paul

~~~


24th June 2014

La Veda is an ideal location for a relaxing break in a peaceful, remote, rural setting.  The farmhouse is more than adequately furnished in a “home from home” style and will comfortably sleep six in three double bedrooms (two bathrooms).


The swimming pool is great for cooling down after a few hours in the sun!

Thanks again.

Best regards,

Chris

~~~

1 August 2015


To: Roger Thomas <lavedareservations@gmail.com>


Hi Roger,

Just wanted to say that the house and our week's stay was absolutely fabulous. The pool was a welcomed addition on the days it was hot. My three teenagers on 3 of the days were stuck to the pool. The area is lovely and myself and my husband loved sitting out in the evening listening to the wildlife. Also a number of walks and my eldest at 17 is an athlete and found a number of food runs to keep up with his training.


It was a brilliant base to have and we managed to get to Cognac, Limoges, Ouradour-sur-Glane and the Chateau.


I would definitely recommend your home to anyone one else and it has given me and my husband the perfect opportunity to make plans that this is the area of France that we like the best.


All the best with the house it is really a lovely place and a perfect setting for relaxation and base to explore.


Kind regards,

Lorraine


~~~


21 August 2015


To: lavedareservations@gmail.com>


Dear Roger

We just wanted to thank you so much for letting us holiday at La Veda.


We had a fabulous 2 weeks, full of fun & relaxation. We had so much fun canoeing at Montbron, high ropes at the adventure park, farmers market at Confolens, wandering around Angouleme, loved the velo rail, swam at the lake and bought a couple of amazing pieces at the briconte in Confolens. The rest of the time we enjoyed the pool, the garden & the house.


It was blissfully quiet, the star gazing was great. We were treated to the Milky Way & a few shooting stars.

We would love to return if you let us!


I'm sorry the boys swallowed up the wifi & we broke a small plate & a bowl, the kids were trying to be helpful.


Many many thanks again Roger, you have a beautiful house.


Sarah, Jim, Tom, Flo & Maggie


~~~


18th June 2016

Excellent service from Owner (from start to end) and Caretaker.
Well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Kitchen a pleasure to cook in.
Wide variety of DVD's CD's etc.
Very varied welcome pack.
Gazebo seating area around pool fabulous.
Enjoyed watching the family of owls on the barn opposite.
Lucky enough to see the water lilies and frog in the small pond.
Would not hesitate to return.
Joan and Bill Sheffield

~~~


9th July 2016: Lovely holiday home in a tranquil setting

 

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Veda. The house had everything we needed, the beds were very comfortable and the garden and pool area was beautiful. We especially liked the raised patio where we had breakfast most mornings and enjoyed the pergola with candles in the evening. A real home from home in a beautiful hamlet setting. The bikes were very welcome and we enjoyed exploring the local area. We found the region very tourist friendly and local restaurants were excellent. You have a lovely home Roger and we look forward to returning again in the future. Alison, Paul and Beth

~~~